Math 3345 - Foundations of Higher Mathematics 

(Autumn 2017)


Course syllabus 


(Correction to the syllabus: This course website will be used instead of Carmen.) 



Daily calendar 



In-class exercises for 8/28/2017 (includes Homework #1)




List of some useful tautologies 




Homework #2 (due Wednesday, September 13):

p. 28 #1 (g)-(k) only

p. 31 #7

p. 35 #10

p. 36 #13

p. 37 #14 (g) and (h) only


Homework #3 (due Wednesday, September 20):

p. 41 #3

p. 43 #8 (b) and (c) [You may use part (a) without proving it.]

p. 44 #10 (b) and (d)

p. 45 #12 [You may assume that pi is irrational.]

p. 46 #13 (a) and (b)

p. 47 #16



Homework #4 (due Wednesday, September 27):

p. 49 #17, 20, 21

p. 51 #26

p. 52 #27



Homework #5  (due Wednesday, October 4)

[click on link for PDF file]



Review problems for Midterm 1 



Homework #6 (due Wednesday, October 18)

p. 61 #5

p. 62 #6, 7, 8

p. 66 #12

p. 71 #22

p. 74 #1 [We already discussed this method in class. Review pp. 72-74 if needed.]


Additional problem: Use the binomial series (see p. 69) to estimate 4/3 raised to the 3/4 power. (Show how to do this to two decimal places without a calculator.) 



Homework #7  (due Wednesday, October 25)

[click on link for PDF file]



Homework #8  (due Wednesday, November 1)

[PDF file includes in-class exercises for Wednesday, October 25]



Homework #9 (due Wednesday, November 8)

p. 118 #33 (e) and (f)

p. 122 #3

p. 123 #5

p. 124 #9

p. 125 #10

p. 127 #15


Homework #10 (due Wednesday, November 15*)
p. 133 #2

p. 137 #12

p. 139 #18

p. 140 #23


*If you prefer, you may turn in this assignment on Friday, November 17 (without any late penalty)



Review problems for Midterm 2 



The next homework assignment will be assigned after Thanksgiving break (due the last week of class).