Math 3345 - Foundations of Higher Mathematics 

(Autumn 2018)
 

 Course syllabus

List of useful tautologies

In-class exercises for 8/27/2018

Homework #1 (due Wednesday, September 5)

 p. 7 #2, 3

p. 15 #15

p. 19 #21

p. 23 #31, 32



Homework #2 (due Wednesday, September 12)

p. 28 #1, parts (g) through (k)

p. 31 #7

p. 35 #10

p. 36 #13

p. 37 #14, parts (g) and (h)



Homework #3 (due Wednesday, September 19)

p. 41 #3

p. 43 #8(c)

p. 44 #10(d)

p. 45 #12 [You may assume that pi is irrational.]

p. 47 #16

p. 49 #17



 Homework #4 (due Wednesday, September 26)

(click on link for PDF file)



Reminder: Midterm 1 on Wednesday, October 3 (in class)

 Review problems for Midterm 1

(click on link for PDF file)



Homework #5 (due Wednesday, October 10)

p. 60 #2

p. 61 #5

p. 62 #6, 8

p. 66 #12

p. 69 Use the binomial series to estimate (4/3)3/4. [Show how to do this to two decimal places without a calculator.]



Homework #6 (due Wednesday, October 17)

(click on link for PDF file)



Homework #7 (due Wednesday, October 24)

(click on link for PDF file – includes “in-class exercises” handed out in class)



Reminder: Midterm 2 on Wednesday, November 7 (in class)


 Review problems for Midterm 2

(click on link for PDF file)



Homework #8 (due Friday, November 9)

p. 118 #33, parts (e) and (f)

p. 122 #3

p. 124 #9

p. 125 #10



Homework #9 (due Monday, November 19)

Reading by Nov. 16 : “Hilbert’s Hotel” (intro. to section 15, page 159)

p. 127 #15

p. 133 #2

p. 137 #12

p. 138 #14



Homework #10 (due Wednesday, November 28)

p. 160 #1

p. 162 #5, 6, 7, 8

p. 175 #11

Notes: This is the last homework assignment for the course. For problem 11, you don’t need to use the material in section 16.



Midterm 2

High: 110 (only one correct solution to the bonus question)

Average: 87

Median: 90

Distribution of scores

100+ : 1

95-99: 9

90-94: 7

85-89: 4

80-84: 4

70-79: 4

<70: 3



The final exam will be on Friday, December 7 at noon (12:00-1:45pm).

 Final exam review problems

(click on link for PDF file)